Historical Geography Research ›› 2021, Vol. 41 ›› Issue (1): 37-50.

Previous Articles     Next Articles

A Study on Changes of Administrative Division of Wuyi Area in the Ming and Qing Dynasties

Chen Guofei   

  1. School of History and Culture, Shaanxi Normal University, Xi’an 710119, China
  • Received:2020-06-15 Online:2021-02-20 Published:2021-02-20


For a time, the Wuyi (five counties) Area was generally located inside the Tanjiang River Basin, a relatively detached geographical unit enclosed by mountains and rivers, when its borders went far beyond the limit of the basin intentionally. Till the Ming dynasty, in order to deal with the local political crisis and civil revolts, the government adjusted the administrative division of the area. Four counties were added or reset, namely Enping, Xinning, Kaiping and Heshan. New borders of these counties were basically in line with the range of Tanjiang River Basin. It was a realization of a geographical unit to affect the forming of administrative borders. In Yongzheng and Qianlong period of Qing Dynasty (1678—1796), the administrative division of this area was roughly accomplished. Xinhui county has become the core county. Along with other four counties in the basin, the Wuyi Area was firstly integrated into a prefecture-level region. The political-geographical changes of Tanjiang River Basin indicated that the geographical environment and local politics played an important role in the forming of political-geographical structure.

Key words: political geography, Tanjiang River Basin, geographical unit, local politics

CLC Number: 

  • K928